21 principles

I am working on a whole new set of workshops on Tai Chi and Personal development. It is going to be amazing! I am so thrilled, so excited to teach the world (Yes, I am dreaming big ;)) about the benefits of Tai Chi and how to grow and find our life purpose.

I will guide people through this process using, first, the Tai Chi meditation, then 2 Tai Chi basic movements and then an 18 form, using the main movements out of a traditional form. Each movement will be accompanied by a personal development chapter.

The first principle is the Zhan Zhuang or Tai Chi meditation. It means literally ‘standing like a post’ and is just a standing posture where you control your breathing.

Wang Xiangzhai, one of the first Chinese masters who recommended this posture as daily practice says this:

“In silence there must be movement, and in motion,
there must be silence.
A small movement is better than a big,
no movement is better than a small
silence is all the movement’s mother.
In Movement you should be like a dragon or a tiger.
In non Movement you should be like a Buddha.”
–Wang Xiangzhai

He talks about the 4 paradoxes of it:

  • Standing still is good exercise
  • Holding your arms up is relaxing
  • Time flies when you are doing nothing
  • Static posture training promotes fluid and coordinated movement.

And it is so true! I can tell you by my own experience that it sounds unbelievable. At first I didn’t want to do it, I wanted to just practice and learn movements. I found standing still was a waste of time. But, after months and some pressure from my Tai Chi teacher, I did it and I felt totally different.

These principles that are so hard to believe with our Western mind, I can teach you step by step and believe me… It will change your life!IMG_2316

Leave a Reply

