Ah… Procrastination!

Who hasn’t been procrastinating from time to time? We know we should take action, but we keep ourselves busy with daily small things.

We then go to seminars, workshops to learn about time management, stress management, maybe even a meditation or Tai Chi class. In those workshops or classes we get exercises to get into action or become more focused and to make our lives better and more organised. Unfortunately, most of us are getting lost in everyday activities almost as soon as we come home from that workshop or class.

Let me give an example from my own life. I have all these ideas to take my business to a next level and I am writing everything down of what I need to do. All of a sudden, I find that to rewatch ‘Sex and the city’ is more important. So, I find myself watching several episodes every day, thinking that my business can wait for a couple of days. I give excuses like ‘I have been working hard these past weeks, so I can use a break.’ But, with this in mind, I lose precious time and maybe I won’t remember everything clearly of what I wanted to do. I forgot some details.

How can we stop this procrastination?

It is difficult to stop our habits, but we have to if we want to reach our goals. Successful people don’t become successful, because they are procrastinators or because they just do what they love. We have to do things that we don’t want, but in the long term, we will be happy and have a more fulfilling life, because we pushed through.

We can change our habits and in only 5 or 6 weeks, this new habit has become common and we do it without thinking about it anymore. So, every bad habit can be turned into a good habit. If you think about something that you have to do, e.g. finish a project by a deadline, do some household chores that you have been putting off,… you do it within the 5 seconds that you think about it. Otherwise you just snooze through life and don’t live life to the fullest.

If you do this systematically, you will complete more things in your life and you will succeed more! Your life will be better and more organized, because you are not piling things up anymore.

Take the tips you got from any seminar you have been to, do your exercises. Go to a Tai Chi to increase your focus and live more in the present moment. It is important to take several actions every day. You will feel more relieved and will be able to have more control over your life.

Wake up with determination, go to bed with satisfaction.”

I’m offering FREE 30-minute sessions for people who are stuck in life and need a little guidance to get them to their path again:

https://www.sohelpful.me/kathydeleye

Leave a Reply

